Part of the Solution

Idealistic musings about eDiscovery

We are live. (Kinda.)

It’s time that I utilized some of the technology that I earn my living evangelizing about. So, welcome to my new eDiscovery blog.

There are dozens of legal blawgs and newsfeeds pertaining to electronic discovery issues.  Most contain lots of posts that may not be useful, on a daily basis, to counsel and support staff.  I believe that your main questions ought to be “What do I need to know?” and “How does this affect me?” With this blawg, I hope to answer those two questions.

The title “Part of the Solution” alludes to my own saying: “No one ever went to law school saying, ‘I want to be part of the problem.’” And yet … so many newly-minted lawyers have had their idealism squeezed out of them, if not by the legal education process itself, then by the harsh demands of survival in the legal industry.

I happen to believe there’s still room for healthy idealism in the legal profession; indeed, I don’t think our system can endure without it. Nowhere is this more true than in adapting to the constant evolution of litigation practice demanded by the evolving world of eDiscovery. Those lawyers who will not evolve, out of fear that any glimmer of cooperation will end up being exploited against them by opposing counsel, must ultimately be left behind. Those who will survive and thrive – those who will realize that there is no valid alternative in modern litigation practice than to embrace the notion of cooperation – share my idealism.

This is my soapbox. I’m aware that every word I type in here will likely follow me around for the rest of my career; so rest assured, if you see it here, that’s because I truly believe in what I’ve written. If you believe in it too, then please stick around. I think you’ll like what you see.

Leave a Reply

